The first NASCAR Hall of Fame class was inducted in 2010. It was an event years in the making for a sport that has become a staple in American culture. Friday night, the Hall grew by 50 percent, adding Dale Inman, Richie Evans, Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, and Glen Wood to the 10 legends that have already been immortalized. 

Inman, an eight-time champ, is the first crew chief inducted. Yarborough, who spent 31 years behind the wheel, won 83 races, and Waltrip has the fourth-most wins with 84 in 809 starts. Former driver and esteemed team owner Wood ran a team that logged 98 wins, and Evans, who passed away in a crash in 1985, was a nine-time Modified racing champ, including eight in a row from '78-'85. 

"Racing is like a big, tall ladder," said Yarborough, who made history in '78 with his third consecutive title. "When you begin you're at the bottom and it's a long, hard climb. And tonight, I feel like I'm standing on the top step!" The exhibit in Charlotte, N.C. highlighting the new inductees opens to the public today. 

[via Motor Authority]

Follow @ComplesRides for more news and commentary.