It's official: The cast of Star Wars: Episode VII has been announced and confirmed by Disney and Lucasfilm. In an announcement on the franchise's website, the cast list was revealed, along with a photo from a recent table read of the script including the group. From the announcement:

Actors John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow will join the original stars of the saga, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker in the new film.

Girls star Driver had been confirmed to portray a villain in the film before, and it was revealed that Mayhew would be returning as Chewbacca recently—but this is the first confirmation we're hearing of Inside Llewyn Davis star Oscar Isaac's role, as well as About Time star Domhnall Gleeson's role. Additionally, it was previously rumored that Ford, Fisher, Hamill would be returning for the resurrected franchise.

"We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII," director J.J. Abrams said in a statement. "It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

Lawrence Kasdan and Abrams wrote the screenplay for the film, and composer John Williams is set to return to score the film. Star Wars: Episode VII will hit theaters on December 18, 2015.

[via StarWars]