Original: 12 Angry Men (1957)
Director: William Friedkin
Stars: Courteney B. Vance, Ossie Davis, George C. Scott, Armi Muehler-Stahl, Dorian Harewood, James Gandolfini, Tony Danza, Jack Lemmon, Hume Cronyn, Mykelti Williamson, Edward James Olmos, William Petersen, Mary McDonell

Television movies, outside of the ones made for, and by, HBO, are often looked down upon, but, occasionally, a few great ones emerge. Case in point: William Friedkin’s 1997 crack at 12 Angry Men, the single-location drama in which 11 jury members, eager to issue a “guilty” sentence, butt heads with the sole guy (Jack Lemmon) proclaiming the defendant's innocence.

Much like its superior 1957 predecessor, Friedkin’s 12 Angry Men is a nearly flawless acting showcase, with a range of personalities and performance strengths congealing into an electrifying morality tale.