Dr. Dre Explains Why 'Detox' Was Never Released, Announces New Album

The legendary Dr. Dre announced a new album due in August 2015. He also finally offers up an explanation as to why 'Detox' was never released.

Image ia Dr. Dre / Interscope


Image ia Dr. Dre / Interscope

Image ia Dr. Dre / Interscope

The recent news of a new Dr. Dre album came with a lot of skepticism—after all, Detox has been “on the way” for well over a decade. This time, however, the news sounds legitimate. On The Pharmacy, Dre’s Beats 1 radio show, the veteran producer/rapper announced a new album called Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre and finally gave an explanation for the ridiculously long Detox delay.

“This is something you’re not gonna hear many artists say: the reason that Detox didn’t come out was because I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good… I mean seriously, I worked my ass off on it, but I didn’t think I did a good enough job. I couldn’t do that to my fans, I couldn’t do that to myself, to be honest.”

Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre is due August 7 on Apple Music. You can pre-order it here and see the feature-heavy tracklist below.

UPDATE (8/4): There will be an exclusive stream of Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre on Apple Music this Thursday night (8/6) from 6PM–9PM PDT (9PM–12AM EST). Immediately after the exclusive stream, Zane Lowe will host a special show on Beats 1 dedicated to the album.


01. Intro

02. Talk About It (ft. King Mez & Justus)

03. Genocide (ft. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)

04. It’s All On Me (ft. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)

05. All In a Day’s Work (ft. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)

06. Darkside/Gone (ft. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)

07. Loose Cannons (ft. Xzibit & COLD 187um)

08. Issues (ft. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)

09. Deep Water (ft. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)

10. Jon Connor – One Shot One Kill (ft. Snoop Dogg)

11. The Game – Just Another Day (ft. Asia Bryant)

12. For the Love of Money (ft. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)

13. Satisfaction (ft. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)

14. Animals (ft. Anderson Paak)

15. Medicine Man (ft. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)

16. Talking To My Diary