The fact that Kelis’ new album is being released on Ninja Tune should excite you. The British independent label, which is home to an incredibly diverse range of forward-thinking acts (Actress, Bonobo, Machinedrum, Roots Manuva etc.), rarely disappoints, so all signs were pointing towards the singer moving away from the in-your-face dance pop of 2010’s Flesh Tone and towards something subtler and more nuanced. Now we have confirmation, in the form of “Jerk Ribs,” the timeless sounding first single from her Dave Sitek-produced album Food.

Download “Jerk Ribs” in exchange for an email address on Kelis’ website here and listen via Spotify now. Check out the album’s food inspired tracklist below.


01. Jerk Ribs
02. Breakfast
03. Forever Be
04. Floyd
05. Runner
06. Hooch
07. Cobbler
08. Bless The Telephone
09. Fish Fry
10. Change
11. Rumble
12. Biscuits ‘n’ Gravy
13. Dreamer

Pigeons & Planes is all about music discovery, supporting new artists, and delivering the best music curation online and IRL. Follow us on and .