With the nominees announced back in October, today the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces Nirvana, KISS, Peter Gabriel, Hall and Oates, Cat Stevens, and Linda Ronstadt will all be inducted into the class of 2014. Legendary backing band the E Street Band, most known for their longtime work with Bruce Springsteen, are set to receive the Award for Musical Excellence. Beatles manager Brian Epstein and original Rolling Stones manager Andrew Loog Oldham will also be honored with the Ahmet Ertegun Award for non-performers.

An artist becomes eligible for the Hall of Fame approximately 25 years after the release of their first single or album. This is Nirvana’s first year of eligibility, and the announcement coincidentally comes just after the 20th anniversary of the band’s iconic MTV Unplugged performance. Nirvana also celebrated the 20th anniversary of their final album In Utero this year.

Nominees that didn’t make the cut this go around include: LL Cool J, N.W.A., the Replacements, Chic, the Meters, the Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Deep Purple, Link Wray, Yes and the Zombies.

The induction ceremony will be held April 10 at the Barclays Center and will air in full on HBO in May. Tickets for the event go on sale in January, with this being the first time the ceremony is open to the general public.


(Rolling Stone)

Pigeons & Planes is all about music discovery, supporting new artists, and delivering the best music curation online and IRL. Follow us on and .