Release date: March 26 Highlights: "Demon To Lean On," "Sail To The Sun," "Afraid Of Heights"

After pleasantly surprising and impressing fans and critics alike with 2011's King Of The Beach, skuzzy surf rockers Wavves returned this year with their follow-up offering, Afraid Of Heights. Though a few years had passed, the album wasn't a sonic departure from the material they had previously perfected. Each track was full of distorted guitar, catchy hooks, and frontman Nathan Williams' paranoid, depressing lyrics about the ups and downs of relationships and growing up.

The importance of Wavves' Afraid of Heights though is the fact that it's once again reaffirmed Williams' place as a makeshift hero to a large group of fans who didn't previously have someone they felt they could relate to. His well-crafted, anthemic tracks feel more fleshed out than ever, depicting the ideas so often scribbled down in notebooks during high school: fuck you, I hate everyone, and life sucks. Timeless themes.—Katie K