The Flaming Lips have put together a compilation that will include a series of collaborations for a Record Store Day release titled The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends. They’ve reportedly collaborated with everyone from Yoko Ono to Ke$ha, but today we get to hear their work with Bon Iver.

“Ashes In The Air” has got Justin Vernon crooning some lyrics that are atypical of his usual work, but the sound is of the Lips’ standard lush and cosmic variety. The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends will be available April 21st, but you can check out the tracklist below now.

Side 1:
01. 2012 (feat. Ke$ha and Biz Markie)
02. Ashes In The Air (feat. Bon Iver)
03. Helping The Retarded To Know God (feat. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros)

Side 2:
04. Supermoon Made Me Want To Pee (feat. Prefuse 73)
05. Children Of The Moon (feat. Tame Impala)
06. That Ain’t My Trip (feat. Jim James of My Morning Jacket)
07. You, Man? Human? (feat. Nick Cave)

Side 3:
08. I’m Working At NASA On Acid (feat. Lightning Bolt)
09. Do It! (feat. Yoko Ono)
10. Is David Bowie Dying? (feat. Neon Indian)

Side 4:
11. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (feat. Erykah Badu)
12. Thunder Drops (feat. New Fumes)
13. I Don’t Want You To Die (feat. Chris Martin of Coldplay)


Pigeons & Planes is all about music discovery, supporting new artists, and delivering the best music curation online and IRL. Follow us on and .