The Original Tracklist For Jay Z's "Reasonable Doubt" Includes Three Unreleased Songs

The album was supposed to start with "Dead Presidents."

Not Available Lead
Complex Original

Image via Complex Original

Not Available Lead

An original tracklist for Jay Z's debut album Reasonable Doubt has surfaced online. Revealed by the album's art director and designer, Adrien Vargas, the list reveals that the album was supposed to be three songs longer than it ended up becoming, with the "Dead Presidents" Remix serving as a bonus song. The three songs taken off, "The Hurt," "Tell Me," and "Hot," have never been released, at least not under those titles.

Meanwhile, the order itself was changed. The original tracklist was supposed to have "Dead Presidents," "Feelin It," and "Ain't No" as the first three songs on the album. The final version started with "Can't Knock The Hustle," "Politics As Usual," and "Brooklyn's Finest." Also, the list of guest appearances on the album is incomplete, omitting Jaz-O and Sauce Money from "Bring It On" and Mary J. Blige from "Can't Knock The Hustle." It also incorrectly states that Memphis Bleek appeared on "Can I Live;" Bleek actually appeared on "Coming Of Age."

Had Reasonable Doubt been released in its original tracklist form, the album would be remembered far differently than it is now. As it stands, Jay has ranked his debut album as his best work.

Latest in Music