Soul experimentalist Willis Earl Beal is sending record labels quite a message with the release of his newest EP. Beal has put out the Principles of a Protagonist EP himself exclusively through BitTorrent. The record features five new takes of tracks that originally appeared on the Chicago singer/songwriter’s debut full-length, Acousmatic Sorcery, earlier this year.

These tracks make up the soundtrack to Beal’s upcoming animated short film, which will also also be called Principles of a Protagonist. Check out the track list and listen to track four, “Cosmic Queries,” below and pick up the EP for free over here.

Principles of a Protagonist EP track list:

01. Away My Silent Lover
02. Sambo Joe From the Rainbow
03. Evening's Kiss
04. Swing on Low
05. Cosmic Queries

Listen: Willis Earl Beal "Cosmic Queries" (EP Version)

[via Pitchfork]