Be prepared to see driverless cars on California roads after Sept. 16. That's when the DMV will allow self-driving cars to begin testing on public roads. The move comes two months after California held public hearings on the technology. 

In order to test self-driving cars companies must apply for a permit and purchase a $5 million insurance bond. If any of the cars get in an accident, it has to be reported within 10 days. Additionally, researchers have to report if the car's self-driving functions are turned off for safety reasons. 

Autonomous vehicles have already undergone vigorous testing, but hitting public roads is a big step as the technology travels closer to the mainstream. Considering their track record we don't expect any mishaps. 

RELATED: A Self-Driving Car Boom Could Slash Police Budgets
RELATED: What Happens When an Autonomous Car Breaks the Law?

[via Live Science