The Daytona 500 just can't have a regular run. There wasn't a pothole on the track this year, nor was there a wild crash into a jet dryer. This year, the main issue was once again weather, with a tornado issued for a storm cell that passed by just miles from the track. The harsh rain halted the race for a record 6 hours and 22 minutes. 

The race started at 1 p.m. today, halted after 38 laps, and finally resumed at 8:30 p.m. ET. It wasn't until 11:18 p.m. that Dale Earnhardt Jr. took the victory. Officially, the race ended under a caution flag, as there was a major crash in the final lap of the race, and the yellow flag was waved before the checkered. 

The win is HUGE for Earhardt Jr. as he has gone winless in four of the past five years. It's the second Daytona 500 win of his career. Unofficially, Denny Hamlin, Jeff Gordon, Brad Keselowski, and Jimmie Johnson round out the Top 5. 

LAST YEAR: Jimmie Johnson's Insanely Impressive Victory Today Will Probably Get Overshadowed by NFL Highlights Tomorrow
LAST YEAR: Danica Patrick, Jimmie Johnson, Trevor Bayne, and Kurt Busch Wreck in Second Lap of Daytona 500

[via ESPN]