Winning a Super Bowl isn't easy. Just ask any of the 14 teams who've never won one during their franchise's history. The Arizona Cardinals, Atlanta Falcons, Buffalo Bills, Carolina Panthers, Cincinnati Bengals, Minnesota Vikings, Philadelphia Eagles, San Diego Chargers, Seattle Seahawks, and Tennessee Titans have all been to the Super Bowl before, but they've never come out of one with a W. And even worse, the Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans, and Jacksonville Jaguars have never been to the big game at all. So it should come as no surprise to hear that there have been lots and lots of great NFL players from those 14 teams—and, hell, from other NFL franchises who have won a Super Bowl before—who've played their entire careers without winning an NFL title. Despite their greatness, it just wasn't in the cards for them.

One of the greatest NFL players ever to not win a Super Bowl was Dan Marino. Although he set all kinds of NFL records during his playing days with the Miami Dolphins, he never got the chance to raise the coveted Vince Lombardi Trophy. It's the only blemish on his NFL career. So as Marino prepares to celebrate his 51st birthday today, we thought we would take a look back at some of the other great players who finished their careers in the same position as him. These are the 20 Greatest NFL Players to Never Win a Super Bowl.

RELATED: The 20 Greatest NBA Players to Never Win a Championship