Series: World Rally Championship
Driver(s): Sebastien Ogier with co-driver Julien Ingrassia; Jari-Matti Latvala with co-driver Miika Anttila; Andreas Mikkelsen with co-driver Mikko Markkula

Volkswagen fielded a factory team in WRC until 1990, but has mostly been absent from the sport ever since, except for the appearance of two Skoda Fabia S2000s at the 2011 Rally Finland event. That is, until 2013. It would be reasonable to expect that a factory staying out of a sport so long wouldn't be very competitive in its first season back. VW have proudly upended everyone's expectations and are handily leading both the Drivers' and Constructors' Championships halfway through their return season. Not only that, but the 2013 VW Polo R WRC has scored points in every single race thus far. Keep in mind that nine-time WRC champion Sebastien Loeb is still racing with the Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team.