Starting Position: 4
Race Time: 3:05:57.160
Chassis/engine: Coyote/Foyt
A banner year at the speedway was headlined by A.J. Foyt streaking into the history books as the first four-time winner of the Indianapolis 500. In qualifying Tom Sneva became the first driver to top the 200 mph mark, but the 26th place starter made just as much noise. Only seven years prior, women were not allowed in the garage area, but in 1977, Janet Guthrie shattered the gender barrier becoming the first woman to race at Indianapolis. She finished 29th after a bad timing gear ended her day after 27 laps.