The Complete History of Indianapolis 500 Winners

2006: Sam Hornish Jr.

Starting Position: 1
Race Time: 3:10:58.7590
Chassis/engine: Dallara/Honda
Rookie Marco Andretti, grandson of Mario, steered his car off of the fourth corner on lap 200 with the checkered flag in sight, but Sam Hornish, Jr. had other plans. He tucked in behind Marco, used the slipstream perfectly, and powered by to steal the win. It was the second-closest finish ever and the first last-lap pass in the 90 runnings of the race.

blog comments powered by Disqus