The Complete History of Indianapolis 500 Winners

1956: Pat Flaherty

Starting Position: 1
Race Time: 3:53:28.840
Chassis/engine: Watson/Offy
The first race on a newly resurfaced track saw Pat Flaherty take the win on a speedway mostly devoid of the aging brick surface. Only a section of the frontstretch remained, as Flaherty won in his Offenhauser-powered Watson by 20 seconds.

blog comments powered by Disqus