The Complete History of Indianapolis 500 Winners

1927: George Souders

Starting Position: 22
Race Time: 5:07:25.080
Chassis/engine: Duesenberg/Duesenberg
Defending race winner Frank Lockhart had the dominant car, leading 110 laps before retiring with an engine problem. Souders, an Indiana native, pounced and won the Indianapolis 500 in his first try.

blog comments powered by Disqus