C.B.J. Snyder, the Superintendent of School Buildings and the architect responsible for many of the important school buildings tasked himself for this design. Designed in 1915, the school was relocated to 127 East 22nd Street from the old Union Square address. Unique to this school was the different class room environment necessary for a trade school.
Snyder's design takes on a Collegiate Gothic style similar to schools of that era, but in this case applying it to a loft-like structure similar to the garment factories that the graduates would work in. At the time, it was the tallest school building in the city.